What You Need to Get Started with Gel Nail Polish! 

What You Need to Get Started with Gel Nail Polish

Hey babes! If you’ve followed me for awhile on Instagram, then you probably know that I’m obsessed with gel nail polish! I have a problem with nail polish not lasting more than a day or two. I’m really hard on my nails! Lol. Gels last me at least a week, sometimes closer to two weeks!! I get questions about them so I thought I would start a mini series! This week we are talking about what supplies you’ll need, next week will be a tutorial, & the last week will be how to remove them!

What You Need to Get Started with Gel Nail Polish 2

I would say Gelish and Red Carpet Manicure are the top two brands. Most of my supplies are from RCM because that’s what I started out with. You can get RCM at Ulta & Nordstrom and Gelish at Sally Beauty. I’m sure you can find them on Amazon and eBay too.

Application

What You Need to Get Started eith Gel Nail Polish 3
Nail Cleanser & Lint Free Wipes– I know some people just use alcohol but I haven’t tried that. I use RCM. Your wipes need to be lint free!!

What You Need to Get Started with Gel Nail Polish 4
Dehydrator– If you are having trouble with your polish peeling up, you definitely need to be using one of these! I use RCM

Base coat– I’m currently using Jamberry’s base coat but I don’t love it. I much prefer my RCM! I am wanting to try Gelish’s to see if it’s worth the price! I’m getting Madam Glam’s in one of my next boxes! Check out my Madam Glam VIP Box post if you want to know more about their subscription!

Top Coat– I’m using RCM and it works perfectly!

What You Need to Get Started with Gel Nail Polish 5
Gel polish– I’ve used a few different brands but a majority of my collection is Red Carpet Manicure, Madam Glam, China Glaze, & Gelish. The polishes wear varies by brand and color. I’m going to start a swatch gallery soon!

What You Need to Get Started with Gel Nail Polish 6
LED or UV Lamp– I actually have two lamps. I got a 6w in a kit from RCM and bought a 12w from Melody Susie off of amazon. They both work fine but just have different curing times.

What You Need to Get Started with Gel Nail Polish 7
Basic Manicure Tools– file, buffer, clippers, cuticle pusher, orange sticks, cuticle oil, etc. Chances are if you do your own nails, you probably already have most of these!

Removal

What You Need to Get Started with Gel Nail Polish 8
Nail polish remover– I got RCM’s in a kit and just kept using it. I buy the big bottle and refill the little one that came in my set. As long as it has acetone in it, you should be fine.

Foil Remover Wraps– You could just use tin foil and cotton balls but that’s too much work for me. Lol. I buy packs of 100 premade ones from eBay for less then $4! Just keep in mind they come from china so they usually take about a month to come in.

  • eBay ($2.49 for 100 pieces) The price varies but I can always find them under $4! It’s the exact same thing as the others!
  • RCM Foil Remover Wraps ($9.99)
  • ASP Gel Polish Soak Off Nail Foils ($6.39)
  • I didn’t even bother linking Gelish’s. There’s no way you need to pay $20 for 100 wraps. I still think the eBay route is the best way to go!

Kits

If you are first starting out, I highly recommend a kit! It will have most of what you need and they are normally a good deal!

Let me know if you heve any questins! Who else loves gel polish?! Thanks so much for stopping by!

xoxo, Amber 💋

**Purchased by me. Links are unaffiliated and as always, these are my honest thoughts!**

33 thoughts on “What You Need to Get Started with Gel Nail Polish! 

  1. Great post! I love gel polish. I usually go get it done though because I always get acrylic first, then paint with gel. I prefer the longer, squared look. Thanks for all the info, eventually I want to start doing my own.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey dear, thanks a lot for this post, I found it very useful mainly because once we learn all this, it can save us some time and money by not going to professional nail artist, instead we can do it all by ourselves 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How long have you been doing your own gel nails? I use to get mine done at a salon a long time ago and it damaged and weakend my nails. Does this happen/not happen to you? Any tips?

    Like

    1. I think it’s been about a year now. I don’t have a problem as long as I don’t peel the polish off. My nails are the longest and most healthy they’ve been in years! If they are filing them too much that could be part of the problem.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

