Book Review | Rough Around the Soul by Maria Monroe

Hey babes! I have another book review for you! I was sent an advanced review copy of Rough Around the Soul by Maria Monroe to review. It seemed like a really interesting book so I had to read it!

Blurb: 

Gritty. Sexy. Taboo.

Melanie Cannon is troubled, desperate, and only eighteen. Taking the fall for a friend, she’s forced into a drug education class, which she expects to be boring as hell. Until Detective Jake Beck walks in as her instructor.

Jake knows it’s a mistake to get involved with a high school senior.

But their passion is undeniable.

Their bond is the kind that lasts forever.

Their connection is more than just lust.

Jake’s willing to risk it all—even when harsh betrayal and ugly secrets threaten everything.

My Review!

Rough Around the Soul is the first book I’ve read by Maria Monroe. I don’t typically read books about high schoolers, it but I love a good cop book! Lol. It was a surprisingly deep book! I wasn’t expecting to like it but I really did!

This is a story about an 18 year old high school student reaching for her future and a 25 year old detective running from his past. It’s really heartbreaking how much shit Melanie has gone through in her young life. She has dealt with a lot. An alcoholic mother, father in prison, and to top it off a sorry excuse for a best friend. Jake really came in to her life at a time she needed him. Melanie and Jake were great together. I really loved their chemistry! I honestly wish there was more to the ending though. I felt like it ended abruptly.

I really did enjoy this book and am happy I got to read it!  I thought it was well written and I really liked that it was told from both Melanie and Jake’s point of view! It’s a raw, emotional book that’ll tug at your heartstrings!

Buy Here ➤ 

It’s $0.99 on Amazon and free with Kindle Unlimited! Here are links to the US, UK, AU, & CA sites!

Add to your Goodreads! Who else is on there?! I love reading reviews on there and adding books to my wishlist! Here’s my Goodreads account!

Are you going to check this book out? What books have you been reading?

Thanks so much for stopping by!!

xoxo, Amber 💋

**An ARC was provided for an honest review. Links are unaffiliated and as always, these are my honest thoughts!**

6 thoughts on “Book Review | Rough Around the Soul by Maria Monroe

Leave a Reply

